Time is everything

Time is everything – this is what I learned in the small time that I’ve been a college graduate. It’s been a little over a week since I walked on the stage in a funny black gown and a square hat with a tassel that got in my eyes and ears and mouth and then attempted to get my lipstick all over my face. Yes, people, I wear lipstick. Not as often as I would like. And I need to stop getting distracted.
So I graduated – but what came after that was not at all what I expected. I expected I would feel free and excited. Instead, I was feeling miserable, tired, and empty. It took me a week of sleeping every day for 12 hours, and then laying in bed and watching TV shows for another 12 to start feeling at least somewhat well-rested.
And finally today I am feeling like I came back to life. I woke up, I cleaned my house, I went to the store and got food, I made dinner and cake, had some eggnog, and started to thaw my turkey in a bathtub full of cold water, after which I went on a walk around town to see Christmas lights, and got to say hi to some friends. Now I am back at my warm house, snacking on strawberries and excited about tomorrow and my life in general. Today has been jolly and very much productive – exactly what I wanted my days after graduation to be.
I am happy that my down time is over – because during that time, I was depressed and angry and tired all the time, feeling like punching things  and people, and being unable to go do my favorite fun things like walking or playing guitar or taking pictures or even playing videogames. However, I am glad I gave myself time and did not push myself to have fun productive days when I did not feel like it. I needed that down time, I needed to just sit at my house 24/7 without any aim and meaning – I needed all that to start feeling better. Time is everything, and I understand it now better than ever.

2 thoughts on “Time is everything

  1. The downtime helps clear your head and rest you. But all breaks must end. Hope you’re having a merry Christmas. 🙂

Leave a Reply

