Bailey’s, Eastern redcedar, steak, and guitar.

Mmm… Hi there people. Been awhile. BUT! I finally have an inspiration – or at least I think I do… (even though I should not wait for inspiration in order to start writing, but whatever).

I had an interesting day. I’m not really sure when my day started: when my alarm went off, or after I ate a warm delicious breakfast of farm fresh eggs sunny-side-up and bacon – or maybe it was later in the afternoon when I was done talking to all the people I needed to go see and finally had the rest of the day all to myself. I’ll take a leap and assume it was the third one, because all the important stuff I had to do was also stressful stuff, and, therefore, boring.

After the boring part was over, the fun part began. I got to go to Old Main (a local bar), and do homework while slowly consuming some delicious alcohol. Doing homework did not seem like a fun idea until after two drinks (now that does not really make sense), so instead I started out my evening by reading a few… dozen… pages of the Mortal Instruments off my new kindle, while sipping on my red beer (which was a little too cold for the weather) – and thinking how I have to have addictions in my life that distract me from homework – be it tv shows or books or videogames or … even cleaning house. Then it started raining outside, and I ordered a delicious Bailey’s coffee, and by the middle of that I decided that it was time to look at my homework. I started up with slowly writing up citations for my past due papers (citations are the scariest part of writing papers) – and gradually moved on to researching possible topics for my big paper (that is, too, scarier than the paper itself). I dug around some peer-reviewed journals (wishing that those peers had something more fun to do than reviewing the stupid journals), and then remembered seeing Eastern Redcedar turning pastures into forests just that past weekend – and came up with a happy topic. That all made me feel accomplished for the day.

The end of the day was equally beautiful. I made steak for supper. That was the second steak I’ve ever cooked in my life, and it was much better than the first one – now I’m just hoping I’m not gonna die. I’m pretty sure I won’t – but I never made a medium steak before, so it was just a little scary. Then I picked up my guitar (which I really should be doing more often) and tried to learn Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Deep Blue Something – hopefully without waking up my neighbors. I also realized I had no idea where my capo was – which I did not really need, but I don’t like losing it – which means I really gotta clean my house.

Now I’m sitting in my recliner (stupid, stupid, uncomfortable recliner) and thinking how much I hate that recliner – and that I probably should not have been drinking coffee in the -pm- hours. And that I’m gonna have to be walking around all shaggy for at least 3 more weeks because my hair stylist is booked till November. grrr…

4 thoughts on “Bailey’s, Eastern redcedar, steak, and guitar.

  1. Sorry about skipping out on the Old Main with you… I was really tired, and in an altered state of mind. I wasn’t capable of launching a manned mission to the fridge right then and there, let alone the Old Main.

  2. Also I like the blog’s new design a whole bunch. It looks neat!

Leave a Reply

